Owner Resale

TOPS [ONE] Version 5.3.0.2

 

Description

When a home is being sold to a new homeowner, a resale should be performed. 

This function moves the current property owner to a previous owner, prompting you to enter the name of the new owner or select the new owner name from a list of existing owners. TOPS [ONE] will keep track of both the new owner and the previous owner. The entire owner payment history can stay with the new owner, stay with the previous owner, or can be split between owners during the resale process.

This article will give you step by step instructions on how to perform an owner resale.

 

A resale cannot be deleted or undone. Double-check the owners and properties before performing this action! 

 

Step By Step 

1. In the navigation pane, click Portfolio then Properties. Select the property to perform the resale on. 

2. Double verify the property address before performing the resale. 

3. Click Actions then Resale.

 

4. This will take you to the Resale page

2020-01-02_14_13_18-Window.png

 

5. Confirm the Property located on the left-hand side

6. Select the Resale Date 

7. The Property can be resold to an existing contact or a new owner

Existing Contact

The Search field is used to find existing contacts

2020-01-02_14_16_16-Window.png

The contact information will populate below the Resale To: section.

 New Owner

Fill in the information

Only First and Last name are required. 

2020-01-02_14_18_22-Window.png

 

 

8. Click Next mceclip1.png on the top right corner

9. Select an Account History Option then Click Next

New Owner Keeps Account History - All owner account history will stay with New Owner

Account History Stays with the Previous Owner

Split Account History as of Resale Date

Note: when splitting history the system will move all history dated up to and including the "resale date" to the Previous Owner.  Any history dated after the Resale Date is moved to the new Property Owner. You will see the beginning balance for the new owner next to the selecting option

10. Close CCR 

Any open ccr's will be closed. To add a comment, enable the toggle. 

mceclip0.png

11. Add, or Delete the Recurring Charges assigned to the property if necessary. 

  • Add a New Charge Code - Select the code from the drop-down menu, then click Add Code. 
  • Delete an Existing Charge Code - Click the trashcan icon next to the charge currently assigned to the property.


12. Click Next 

13. In the next window, verify the information on the Owner Resale Summary.

This is the last chance to undo the resale before the process is completed. Resales cannot be undone after Save is selected.

 

14. Click Save mceclip2.png

You will be redirected to the property page with the new owner as the Primary Owner. 

15. (Optional) Once the property page loads, you will have the option to send the new homeowner a message right after the resale is complete.  This message is only temporary and will disappear once you leave the page. 

However, a message to the homeowner can always be created through the Action Menu on this page. 

mceclip3.png

 

Did you find this article helpful?

6 out of 12 found this helpful